New Zealand has some interesting and, at times, conflicting visa arrangements with many European countries. It can be difficult to make sense of, so I drew up the following map to help ease my own confusion – hopefully it will be of use to other Kiwis looking to travel to Europe.

European Visa Map for New Zealanders

Map of Europe - NZ Visas

Guide to the Map

  1. United Kingdom
  2. Ireland
  3. Iceland
  4. Norway
  5. Sweden
  6. Finland
  7. Denmark
  8. Netherlands
  9. Belgium
  1. Luxembourg
  2. Germany
  3. Austria
  4. Greece
  5. Italy
  6. France
  7. Spain
  8. Portugal
  9. Estonia
  1. Latvia
  2. Lithuania
  3. Poland
  4. Czech Republic
  5. Slovakia
  6. Hungary
  7. Slovenia
  8. Switzerland
  9. Malta

Note: countries not listed here, such as Russia, have individual visa requirements. Contact their respective Embassies for more information.


Marked in green on the above map (1-2). Visitors can stay up to 180 days.

Schengen Area Countries with Bilateral Visa Waivers

Countries marked in blue (3-17) have bilateral agreements with New Zealand, which state New Zealand citizens can stay up to 90 days in each country. These agreements effectively override the Schengen area restriction.

Other Schengen Area Countries

The remaining countries, marked in purple (18-27) do not have bilateral agreements with New Zealand. The 90/180 Schengen Visa rule applies – visitors can stay up to 90 days in the entire Schengen area out of every 180 days.

This is where it gets tricky. The NZ Embassy states that if you have already spent 90 days or more in the countries with bilateral visa waivers, then:

your presence in a Schengen area country with which New Zealand does not have a bilateral visa waiver agreement may be challenged by local border control, police or other authorities.  You may also be accused of being an overstayer when you leave the Schengen area, or when you enter another country outside the Schengen area.”

So, if you intend to spend longer than 90 days in the Schengen area, you’ll have to be fully aware of the rules and you may be best to leave the Schengen area from a country that does have a bilateral visa waiver, to avoid any problems at the airport.

For more information, visit or contact the Embassy or Consulate of the Schengen area countries you wish to visit.